Perform a search on the site.

PIBE project

Providing wind energy operators and residents of wind farms with new tools and knowledge to better understand the risk of noise pollution at each stage of a wind farm's life

Context

Despite the relatively moderate noise levels radiated by wind turbines, in comparison with those associated with transportation sources for instance, an annoyance can be reported when specific situations occur. Currently the only solutions to limit the noise emissions available to a wind operator is to reduce the activity of the wind farm by restricting or stopping the machines during critical periods, inevitably leading to a decrease in the wind farm energetic efficiency.

The reported noise annoyance is often related to the particular nature of the radiated sound signal that may present significant temporal fluctuations (amplitude modulation). Wind turbine noise may also contain important low-frequency components (audible or not) that can propagate over large distances. It may also have intermittent phenomena that potentially come from non-optimal wind turbine settings (stall noise for instance). If the existence of these phenomena is well known, their modeling represents nowadays a scientific challenge and their integration into noise prediction methods an operational challenge.

hjfg

Objectives of the project

The PIBE project is the first French collaborative research project on wind turbine noise. Its originality lies in its global approach, ranging from the study of sources of aerodynamic noise to the study of noise reduction solutions, including the modelling of noise propagation to the local population.

The objectives of the PIBE project are:

  • improve the prediction methods for wind turbine noise impact studies, from the source to the neighbor, in order for the wind farm developer to optimize a project since the development phase ;
  • investigate noise reduction solutions and their efficiency in controlled and real conditions.

To achieve the first objective, the mechanisms of aerodynamic noise generation, especially those causing amplitude modulation, must be better understood and modelled (Work Package 1), and the uncertainties relative to the variability of noise generation and propagation phenomena need to be evaluated (Work Package 2). Achieving the second objective requires gaining a deeper knowledge of noise reduction mechanisms and of its behaviour in real conditions (Work Package 3).

Expected results

The objective of the project is to provide wind energy professionals and residents of wind farms with new tools to better understand the risk of noise pollution at each stage of a wind farm's life in order to ensure compliance with regulatory requirements regarding the exposure of local populations.

Noise generation

Works on the study of aerodynamic noise will enable manufacturers, or companies in charge of equipment maintenance, to better understand noise generation phenomena, in order to better optimize wind energy equipment in the future

Acoustic
prediction

In addition to the work on noise emissions, the work on acoustic propagation will provide a wind farm developers with a better knowledge of global uncertainties on acoustic predictions, thus enabling them to better estimate the risk of annoyance and optimize its wind farm from the development phase.

Noise
reduction

Works on noise reduction solutions will propose innovative solutions that reduce noise at source, thus enabling a wind operator to deal with situations at risk during the operational phase, without necessarily having to lower the activity of the wind farm which very often have negative repercussions on the energy and economic profitability of the wind farm, whether located inshore or offshore.


Main
expected results

Development of models to estimate the emission and propagation of wind turbine noise.

The creation of a database of experimental data on the wind tunnel characterization of noise due to dynamic stall at wind turbine blades.

The creation of a database of experimental data on wind turbine noise in outdoor environments.

The creation of a database on uncertainties of wind turbine noise predictions

The evaluation and development of solutions for reducing wind turbine noise at source.

Effectuer une recherche sur le site

Projet PIBE

Fournir aux acteurs de la filière éolienne et aux riverains des parcs éoliens des outils et des connaissances nouvelles permettant de mieux appréhender le risque de nuisance sonore à chaque stade de vie d'un parc éolien

Contexte

Malgré les niveaux sonores modérés générés par les éoliennes, comparativement à ceux générés par des sources de transport par exemple, une gêne sonore est parfois exprimée dans certaines situations. Actuellement les seules solutions pour limiter les émissions sonores à la disposition d’un exploitant éolien est de réduire l’activité du parc en bridant ou en arrêtant les machines lors des périodes critiques, entrainant inévitablement une baisse du rendement du parc éolien.

La gêne sonore rapportée est très souvent liée à la nature particulière du signal sonore généré qui présente dans certaines circonstances des fluctuations temporelles marquées (modulation d'amplitude) ; il peut également comporter des composantes basses fréquences (audibles ou non) qui se propagent sur des distances importantes, ainsi que des phénomènes intermittents pouvant provenir de fonctionnements en mode non optimal des éoliennes (bruit de décrochage par exemple).
Si l'existence de ces phénomènes est bien connue, leur modélisation constitue à ce jour un verrou scientifique et leur intégration dans des méthodes de prévision du bruit un verrou opérationnel.

hjfg

Objectifs du projet

Le projet PIBE est le premier projet de recherche collaboratif français concernant le bruit des éoliennes. Son originalité réside dans son approche globale, allant de l'étude des sources de bruit aérodynamique jusqu'à celle de solutions de réduction de bruit, en passant par la modélisation de la propagation du bruit jusqu'au riverain.

Le projet PIBE a pour but :

  • D'améliorer les méthodes de prévision de l'impact sonore des éoliennes, de la source de bruit jusqu'au riverain, afin de permettre à un développeur de parc d'optimiser un projet dès la phase de développement, dans le respect des populations environnantes ;
  • D'étudier de nouvelles solutions de réduction du bruit et d'évaluer leur efficacité.

La réalisation du premier objectif passe par un travail de compréhension et de modélisation des phénomènes de génération du bruit d'origine aérodynamique, en particulier ceux à l'origine de la modulation d'amplitude (Axe 1), ainsi que par une évaluation des incertitudes liées à la variabilité des phénomènes influençant la génération et la propagation du bruit (Axe 2). La réalisation du deuxième objectif nécessite d'acquérir une meilleure connaissance des mécanismes de réduction du bruit, d'évaluer les performances de nouvelles solutions en soufflerie, et d'estimer dans quelle mesure ces performances peuvent être extrapolées à l'échelle 1:1 (Axe 3).

Résultats attendus

Le projet a pour objectif de fournir aux professionnels de la filière éolienne et aux riverains des parcs éoliens des outils nouveaux permettant de mieux appréhender le risque de nuisance sonore à chaque stade de vie d'un parc éolien afin de garantir le respect des exigences réglementaires concernant l’exposition des populations riveraines.

Génération
du bruit

Les travaux sur l'étude du bruit aérodynamique permettront aux constructeurs, ou les entreprises en charge de la maintenance du matériel, de mieux comprendre les phénomènes de génération du bruit, afin de pouvoir mieux optimiser dans le futur le matériel éolien.

Prévision
acoustique

De manière complémentaire aux travaux sur l'émission, les travaux sur la propagation acoustique permettront de fournir à un développeur de parc une meilleure connaissance des incertitudes globales sur les résultats de prévision acoustique, lui permettant ainsi de mieux estimer le risque de nuisance et d'optimiser son parc dès la phase de développement.

Réduction
du bruit

Les travaux portant sur les solutions de réduction de bruit proposeront des solutions innovantes réduisant le bruit à la source, permettant ainsi à un exploitant éolien de traiter en phase d'exploitation des situations à risque, sans avoir nécessairement recours à des solutions de bridage de machines qui ont très souvent des répercussions négatives sur la rentabilité énergétique et économique d'un parc en activité, qu’il soit localisé sur terre ou en frange littorale voire offshore.


Principaux
résultats attendus

Le développement de modèles permettant d’estimer l’émission et la propagation du bruit des éoliennes.

La constitution d’une base de données expérimentales sur la caractérisation en soufflerie du bruit dû au décrochage dynamique au niveau de pales d’éoliennes.

La constitution d’une base de données expérimentales sur le bruit des éoliennes en milieu extérieur.

La constitution d’une base de données portant sur les incertitudes d’estimation du bruit des éoliennes.

L’évaluation et la mise au point de solutions de réduction à la source du bruit des éoliennes.